7th International Conference on Logic Programming and Nonmonotonic Reasoning

Important Dates
Call for Papers
Call for System Descriptions
Program Committee
Paper Submission
Accepted Papers
Author Instructions
Invited Talks
Travel Information

Call for Papers

7th International Conference on Logic Programming and Nonmonotonic Reasoning (LPNMR-7)

Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA January 6-8, 2004

Co-located with the 8th AIMATH and CLIMA IV

[See the conference home page also for the Call for System Descriptions (Deadline Aug 22, 2003).]

LPNMR-7 is the seventh in the series of international meetings on logic programming and nonmonotonic reasoning. Six previous meetings were held in Washington, U.S.A. (1991), in Lisbon, Portugal (1993), in Lexington, U.S.A. (1995), in Dagstuhl, Germany (1997), in El Paso, U.S.A. (1999), and in Vienna, Austria (2001). LPNMR-7 will be co-located with the Eighth International Symposium on Artificial Intelligence and Mathematics. The proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer Verlag Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series, see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/.

Aims and Scope

LPNMR is a forum for exchanging ideas on declarative logic programming, nonmonotonic reasoning and knowledge representation. In the 1980s researchers working in the area of nonmonotonic reasoning discovered that their formalisms could be used to describe the behavior of negation as failure in Prolog, and the first LPNMR conference was convened in 1991 for the purpose of discussing this relationship. This work has led to the creation of logic programming systems of a new kind - answer set solvers, and to the emergence of a new approach to solving combinatorial search problems, called answer set programming. The aim of the conference is to facilitate interactions between researchers interested in the design and implementation of such declarative logic programming languages and researchers who work in the areas of knowledge representation and nonmonotonic reasoning.

Authors are invited to submit papers presenting original and unpublished research on nonmonotonic aspects of logic programming and knowledge representation. A non-exhaustive list of topics of interest includes:

  1. Development and mathematical studies of logical systems with non-monotonic entailment relations:
    • Semantics of new and existing languages;
    • Relationships between formalisms;
    • Complexity and expressive power;
    • Development of inference algorithms and search heuristics for LPNMR systems;
    • Extensions of ``classical'' LPNMR languages by new logical connectives and new inference capabilities such as abduction, reasoning by cases, etc;
    • Updates and other operations on LPNMR systems;
    • Uncertainty in LPNMR systems.
  2. Implementation of LPNMR systems:
    • system descriptions, comparisons, evaluations;
    • LPNMR benchmarks.
  3. Applications of LPNMR systems:
    • LPNMR languages and algorithms in planning, diagnosis, software engineering, decision making, and other domains;
    • Methodology of representing knowledge in LPNMR languages: theory and practice;
    • Integration of LPNMR systems with other computational paradigms;
    • Embedded LPNMR systems: Systems using LPNMR subsystems.


Papers must be written in English and must not exceed thirteen (13) pages including title page, references and figures. They must be formatted according to the Springer LNCS/LNAI authors' instructions (see http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html).

Paper submission is electronic via the conference home page http://www.tcs.hut.fi/Conf/lpnmr-7/. Papers must be registered (title, abstract, authors, contact information) by July 21, 2003 23:59:59 GMT and the full paper must be uploaded by July 22, 2003, 23:59:59 GMT.

Important Dates

Deadline for paper registration: July 21, 2003
Deadline for paper submission: July 22, 2003
Notification to authors: September 22, 2003
Final version: October 15, 2003
Conference: January 6-8, 2004


Vladimir Lifschitz, University of Texas at Austin, USA
Ilkka Niemelš, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland

Program Committee

Jose Alferes (New University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Chitta Baral (Arizona State University, USA)
Yannis Dimopoulos (University of Cyprus, Cyprus)
Juergen Dix (University of Manchester, UK)
Phan Minh Dung (Asian Institute of Technology)
Esra Erdem (University of Toronto, Canada)
Michael Gelfond (Texas Tech University, USA)
Tomi Janhunen (Helsinki University of Technology, Finland)
Jorge Lobo (Teltier Technologies, USA)
Fangzhen Lin (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Ramon P. Otero (University of Corunna)
Victor Marek (University of Kentucky, USA)
Gerald Pfeifer (Vienna University of Technology, Austria)
Enrico Pontelli (New Mexico State University, USA)
Teodor Przymusinski (University of California, Riverside, USA)
Chiaki Sakama (Wakayama University, Japan)
Tran Cao Son (New Mexico State University, USA)
Hudson Turner (University of Minnesota, Duluth, USA)
David Warren (State University of New York at Stony Brook, USA)
Jia-Huai You (University of Alberta, Canada)

Latest update: 09 July 2003.